
MANDATED REPORTERS AND

Adult Protective Services

WHAT IS Adult Protective Services (APS)?
APS is a social services program focused on helping older adults and individuals with disabilities live 
with dignity and respect by investigating allegations of abuse, neglect, self-neglect, and exploitation.

WHO CAN RECEIVE APS services?
In Virginia, APS serves adults who are:

	9 60 years of age or older; or
	9 18-59 years of age and incapacitated
	9 Living in the community or a residential setting except for state correctional facilities

HOW DO YOU DEFINE  Abuse, Neglect, Self-Neglect, and Exploitation?
Below are some common definitions. For more information visit our website at dars.virginia.gov/aps/.

WHO ARE  Mandated Reporters?
In Virginia, mandated reporters are any person licensed, certified, or registered by health regulatory boards listed in § 54.1-2503 of 
the Code of Virginia, except persons licensed by the Board of Veterinary Medicine. Mandated reporters also include professionals 
and other providers who support the adult in an administrative or direct care capacity. Some examples are:

	9 Pharmacists and Technicians 
	9 Emergency Response Service Providers
	9 Homemaker, Chore, Companion or Personal Care 

Providers

	9 Healthcare, Medical or Dental Service Providers
	9 Law Enforcement Personnel
	9 Licensed Professional Counselors 
	9 Social Service Workers

Self-Neglect

Self-Neglect is when an
adult is unable to meet 
their own essential 
physical, psychological, 
or social needs, which 
threatens their health, 
safety, and well-being.

Exploitation

Exploitation is when 
someone takes 
advantage of the adult 
or their finances for 
personal benefit or 
financial gain. 

Abuse

Abuse comes in physical, 
mental, or sexual forms 
and can have physical or 
emotional signs. 

Neglect

Neglect is when a
caregiver fails to provide
adequate assistance that
the adult depends on—
such as food, clothing,
shelter, or necessary
medical care.
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HOW DO YOU report to APS?

	z Contact APS using the information below.

	z Make sure to provide the following information, but please note that you can make 
this report anonymously if you so choose: 

	9 The individual’s name, address, age/date of birth, or other identifying information
	9 Why they are at risk for abuse, neglect, self-neglect, or exploitation
	9 Descriptions of the situation, any important identifiers of the alleged abuser, or 

other dangers in their home environment
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WHAT HAPPENS after reporting?
APS evaluates the report for validity and will investigate the suspected abuse, neglect, self-neglect or exploitation, and connect the 
individual with support services if the individual wishes to receive them.

We understand that every adult individual has the right to self-determination; APS cannot force anyone to accept help (except in a 
limited set of circumstances) if they do not wish to receive it. APS does not have the authority to sanction facilities or providers. We 
also cannot control whether or not law enforcement opens an investigation. APS investigations are confidential, so we may not be 
able to provide you with the details of the investigation.
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WHAT IF  I’m not sure?
Do you just have a “feeling” about a situation but can’t verify the details? APS professionals are trained to handle such situations. 
Based on your report, APS will assess the situation and determine how best to respond. Your local department can determine the 
best course of action in any given situation.

WHY ARE  Mandated Reporters required to report?
Mandated reporters, together with APS, play an important role in helping seniors and adults 
with disabilities live lives free of maltreatment. For that reason, mandated reporters are required 
to report incidents to APS immediately, and may be penalized financially for failing to report 
suspected incidents of abuse, neglect, self-neglect and exploitation.

To report suspected adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation, 
call your local department of social services or the 
24-hour, toll-free APS hotline at: (888) 832-3858.


